Author Topic: 425 Tobacco Free  (Read 365 times)

Offline itsmevic

• Likes Given: 0
425 Tobacco Free
« on: October 30, 2011, 04:07:00 AM »
Hi folks,

Although I've known about this website for quite some time now, this is my very first post. As of today, I am 425 days free of smokeless and smoke tobacco. I'm extremely proud of myself as I've been dipping since I was 16 years of age (I'm 41 now). My reasoning behind wanting to quit were simple. I didn't want to get cancer and loose half of my face and judging by the way my body was talking to me (my mouth in general) I was not far off from that.

The insides of my mouth wore torn plum up, I mean it was bad...when it would get that way, I'd lay-off a bit (my idea of laying off at the time was instead of a can a day, I'd do half to 3/4 quarters of a can) and relocate the dip elsewhere in my mouth. The problem was I kept getting those white crinkly patches you get from dipping and they were all over my cheeks. My gum line's were so receded from years of dipping it hurt. I had to constantly move the dip around in my mouth so that I could avoid the pain.

I then decided to quit, I knew I was not far off from being diagnosed with oral cancer (it's just that feeling one gets, ya'll know what I'm talking about). So, the genius that I am, I decided to take up smoking. The white patches were gone and I thought to myself, if I can't dip, then I'll smoke and get my fix. To my amazement, the cigarette smoke made those white patches come back...it didn't matter if it was just one cig or a box of cigs the whiteness would re-appear in my mouth. I was desperate at this point...I knew I had to quit everything all together. My body was telling me no more.