Author Topic: First time, long time "Intro"  (Read 15289 times)

Offline JoeC

• Eternal Quitters
  • Quitter
  • Interests: Broncos, CU Buffs, golfing
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: First time, long time
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2018, 06:37:10 PM »

7:03 PM - Mar 13, 2016 #1

Greetings from beautiful Colorado, my name is Joe and I feel like a first time caller, long time listener to KTC after discovering the site/community about two years ago (in fact discovering Smokey Mountain Snuff via KTC). At 27, going on 28, I've been dipping pretty consistently for about 11 years, usually around a can of Copenhagen a day until December 2015 when I ratcheted it back to a 1/2 can or so a day of Skoal Mint/XTRA.

Like a lot of folks, I used it as a crutch to get through the daily stress of college, grad school, work--or while golfing, skiing, you name it--not realizing how much a "quick dip here or a quick dip there" really added up and created such an addict out of me. On Friday, I decided to completely quit, having gotten fed up with myself for some many failed attempts at quit dates before and continually telling everyone I know that I'm successfully quitting. As I roll past the 48 hour mark--and it's taken me only an hour to write these few measly sentences--"The Fog" everyone refers to certainly seems very real at this point. The support of friends, family and colleagues has been fantastic, but I finally decided to bite the bullet, man up and join KTC.

Offline JoeC

• Eternal Quitters
  • Quitter
Re: First time, long time
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2018, 06:36:37 PM »
7:09 PM - Mar 13, 2016 #2

Nomore1959 wrote

Quote from: JoeC