Author Topic: * The Camping Trip Confession  (Read 3203 times)

Offline Thedumbox

• Hall of Fame Conductor
  • Quitter
    • Coffeebabees
  • Interests: Family, Faith, Friends...music from Do to Ti, books from A to Z :)
  • Likes Given: 78
* The Camping Trip Confession
« on: July 11, 2020, 08:10:22 AM »
I grew up in West Texas. Copenhagen was a part of many lives around me as a youngster. I tried the nasty stuff at seven, and by the time Walt Garrison became Skoal’s poster boy, I was a veteran dipper. We moved  all over Texas in my teen years. My parents divorced. I found some consistency in the steady and sure “company” of Cope in every town we lived in. Thirty years into my addiction, I prayed my way into my first quit. Ten years later (TEN YEARS LATER!), I was going through a hard time and caved to the crave. Seven years later and you can do the math…37 years of Cope worship. That is 13,505 days.

I am so happy to be celebrating my 100 days without the can with the help of God’s grace. Much of that manifested through many of my fellow KTC’ers who doggedly pushed and pulled me to this point. I have always been a loner and coming to terms with the constant reminder to post roll was a challenge at times. Thanks go to several of you, and there are others: @MuleMan, @ChickDip, @Daviddim, @Bagel_Dog, @JohnSmallberries, @stillbrewing, and @Thomas A. It’s difficult enough to manage your own quit, but forum flunkies like me kept them working overtime.