Author Topic: * My very own quit  (Read 3697 times)

Offline Alejandro0901

• Quitter
  • Likes Given: 1
* My very own quit
« on: January 24, 2020, 07:55:32 PM »
Hey everyone. I have a few things I wanted to share about my own struggles with nicotine addiction and subsequent quitting. Quick into - Real name is Alex and I am a 32 year old physician assistant who works in orthopedic surgery. I live currently in Raleigh, NC but grew up in the Albany, NY area and spent several years living in Queens, NY after grad school.

The nature of my addiction:  I dipped a can a day for about 10 years starting in grad school. I hid it from everyone except my roommate at the time. 45 minute poop breaks, shower dips, secret spitters, etc. My wife knew I had done it in grad school but I told her I stopped when we moved in together - that was 2013. I hid it from her for 6 years. She thought I had IBS. Only addicts do that.

Life milestones:  Like many others, I always picked an important life milestone to quit dipping. Here is a running list of all the milestones that came and went where I did not stop dipping: graduating Physician Assistant school, starting my first adult job, moving in with my now wife, switching from overnight shift to day shift, marrying my wife, moving to North Carolina, buying our first house, birth of our first baby (now 10 month old daughter). Forget the milestones. The one that ended up working was a random Wednesday in the middle of October. PICK TODAY TO QUIT!!