Author Topic: Mentally trying to pick my day.  (Read 2146 times)

Offline Stranger999

• Hall of Fame Conductor
  • Master of Quit
  • Quit Date: 09/05/2015
  • Interests: Taking that first breath every morning before I post roll again.... Family, Philadelphia Eagles football, music, computers, solving puzzles of all sorts
  • Likes Given: 244
Re: Mentally trying to pick my day.
« Reply #6 on: November 19, 2021, 12:46:15 AM »
Hey guys/gals my name is Jay. I’ve been dipping for about 20 years. I’ve been wanting to quit for some time now but the wall seems to hard to get over. I was a daily drinker and after 5 trips to detox and one trip to treatment I joined AA. My last drink was Aug 7 of 2020. Booze was very hard for me to get off but there’s no going back to it now as long as I continue to do my part. Since I’ve got over the drinking it’s now time to get off the chew. I just can’t seem to find the strength to pick a day to face it head  on. How did you guys find the strength to start your day #1? Thanks JAY

To answer the "how" question.  I had been thinking about quitting forever without actually quitting.  I had even bought a bunch of gum with the idea that I would use it when I quit, and then that gum sat in a drawer for months.  I decided to quit when I ran out of chew on a Labor day weekend and I put my foot down.  I decided that I'd had enough and I would never buy a can again.

There was some strength involved in quitting, but I also had to be ready to quit.  I had to make that decision for myself.  Face it when you are ready to face it.  We will be here to support you when you do.

Offline Zombo Funk

• LVL 1
  • Hall of Fame Conductor
  • Quitter
    • HOF Speech
  • Quit Date: April 29, 2020
  • Likes Given: 345
« Reply #5 on: November 16, 2021, 10:38:27 PM »
Hey @Maineguy ,