Author Topic: Two Months  (Read 917 times)

Offline Colonel_No_Cope

• BANNED
  • Quitting MoFo
  • Likes Given: 0
Re: Two Months
« Reply #4 on: December 30, 2011, 12:33:00 PM »
Quote from: sgtspurge
Hello all!

I'm a Soldier in the U.S. Army. I first tried to quit back in 2010 and failed due to the stress of an upcoming deployment. I continued to dip all the way through an 11-month tour in Iraq. When the PX ran out of dip, everyone was hurting. Then, I managed to get some dip sent to me from the States. I had people coming to me to buy dip. It was crazy. I decided that I needed to figure something out. I was dependent on the stuff. It controlled me. I have no moral qualms with using various things for recreational purposes. I would include alcohol and tobacco in that statement. However, when something controls you, it is time to stop it. So I got back from Iraq in September. In October, I made a spontaneous decision to stop. I had ran out of dip. My wife and I went to the grocery store. I was getting light headed and quite irritable. My wife insisted that I go buy a can of dip. So off I went, only I didn't go up front to the Customer Service counter. Instead, I went over to the pharmacy section. When I rejoined my wife, I had a box of the Nicorette lozenges. I had finally snapped. I decided that I did not wish to be controlled any longer. I believe that was 24 October, but I may be a week or so off. I started on Nicorette's program, but found that I didn't need to take the lozenges as often as it initially prescribed. I then quickly lost count of my days and weeks. Oh well, it didn't seem to matter. I found that I was slowly weening myself off of nicotine. Then, on Saturday, 17 December, 2011, I took my last lozenge. I haven't looked back. I can now say that I'm two months post-dipping and a full 13 days post-nicotine.